Search for historical records about your family and start your free family tree. The database contains thousands of searchable collections of records from around the world including Census Records & Voter Lists, Immigration & Emigration Records, Family Trees, and Birth, Marriage & Death Records.
This database must be accessed inside the library.
Heritage Quest is a collection of over 25,000 family and local history books, the entire US Federal Census, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, and other expanding collections.
Use this database from home with your library card number.
Live Homework Help® for students
Live Homework Help connects students in grades K-12 and adult learners with online tutors for live, one-to-one help in math, science, English, and social studies. Tutors are available from 3:00 to 10:00 p.m., seven days a week. Disponibles en español en Matemáticas, Estudios Sociales, y Ciencia, Domingo a Jueves de 3:00 a 10:00 p.m.
Use this database from home with your library card number.
eLibrary Plus is a full-text article database that contains current news and research information. Many journals provide full-text. No username and password needed if you use eLibrary at a library computer.
Use this database from home with your library card number.
NoveList is a Readers’ Advisory database that allows users to search for their favorite book or author and then find similar reading material. No username and password is needed when using NoveList on library computers.
Use this database from home with your library card number.
Testing and Education Reference Center
Test preparation, college and graduate program search, career search and much more!
Use this database from home with your library card number.
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
Use this database from home with your library card number.
Legal forms from Adoption to Worker’s Compensation and everything in between.
Use this database from home with your library card number.
OCLC WorldCat
(please see the circulation desk for the username and password)
OCLC WorldCat allows you to search library catalogs from around the world. When requesting an item please make sure to enter your first name, last name, and contact information in the form.
This database can be accessed from home with the library’s username and password.
Effingham Legal Self Help Center
Effingham Legal Self Help Center gives you access to legal information and provides help for Illinois residents. Access to online documents, automated forms, and a complete library of self-help materials. No username or password is needed to access the Effingham Legal Self Help Center.
Junior Library Guild Reading Guides
Junior Library Guild provides student and teacher reading and activity guides to the Helen Matthes Library. These are a great resource for teachers, home school families and parents!
Access these guides from anywhere with the first five digits of your Helen Matthes Library card or ask the library for a code.



Illinois Legal Forms